Oh Summer…

Summertime and I have a love/hate relationship for sure.

Since becoming a stay at home mom there are things about summer that I adore. Not too many tight schedules means lots of staying up late and of course sleeping in. It means mom doesn’t cook as much. It is more “what can we piece together?” (this may be a downside of summer for My Mr, but it’s only 3 months and he always has a great attitude about it, even when we are eating sandwiches for the 852nd time).  Here’s pictures of a rare summer “real meal”.  Faitas, because Mexican. Enough said.

image image image image

Besides the cut in cooking, our meals are just generally more “go with the flow”, where as during the school year we generally eat by 5:30, at the very latest. Also more – a lot – of meals are eaten in front of the tv (insert looking down in embarrassment emoji) with movies or American Ninja Warrior, or as of late, soccer and the Tour de France.

Another thing I like about summer is I don’t clean as much (Insert eye avoidance from shame emoji). We do pretty good with the dishes, ya know at least getting them in the dishwasher once we have a whole load worth sitting in the sink. And our wood floor shows any and every thing that gets dropped on it, so I tend to still vacuum, but that same floor, may or may not, or may, be in need of a serious mopping…and please if you happen to stop by during the summer, Do.Not.Look. at the blinds that you could write on because of the dust. HA, just kidding, kind of…

image  image image

Summer also has the perk of half price shakes after 8 at Sonic, an open Sno Cone Shack (and it’s not that sugar with a side of ice chunky stuff, its smooth and not too sweet and cold and delicious), and 89 cent Kwik Shop fountain drinks (yes all you Wichitans, soak up your cheaper Kwik shop summer drinks or just do me a favor and go to QT. How I miss QT).

image

image

image

 However, summer has a down side, and that is the weather, the temperatures,THE.HEAT.

I am a cool weather girl. Fall is my absolute favorite, spring is a really close 2nd but even winter, with it’s snow & ice, trumps summer in my book because it’s no where close to the 80’s…yes you read that right, 80’s. Once that temp creeps up to 85 or higher, call me cooked and give me an inside activity.

The boys love swimming and yes I know it generally works better to swim in the hoooooooot weather, but that’s part of the hate relationship i have. Maybe I could start an indoor public pool, for all those fellow fall loving moms out there.

image image

And can we talk baseball? No, America’s favorite pass time is not my favorite. At All. I know, I know there are a ton of friends out there that just moaned but a baseball mom, I am not. A baseball fan, I am not.  Pretty much any other sport: BRING IT.  My Mr and I have always encouraged the boys and allowed them to try whatever sport they wanted, baseball included. But I have to say, my heart was not broken that Big Bub decided to not play this year. Not only does it require you to sit outside, in the heat, it moves way too slow for my taste.  I once had a co-worker that said, “In the summer there are Lake people and there are Baseball people” In the summer, you either spend your weekend out on the water or sitting in a stadium, both consequently include eating hot dogs.  And while I don’t necessarily agree, since being a lake person also requires said heat, if I had to choose: give me that lake and at least some type of fast water transportation over hours in a seat watching ball.

image image image image

However, Little Bub did play rec t-ball. While this year we were spoiled with cooler temps than normal for most the season, there were a couple that re-affirmed, that I am not a baseball mom. Including his make up game on Monday.  It was so hot, we let him wear shorts instead of his baseball pants (insert outcries from my die hard baseball friends) and since he was the only player all season long that wore them, it did not go unnoticed. “Where’s your pants?” our neighbor asked.  And as soon as we were finished and the next game was going to start the clouds and slightly cooler temps came (and by that I mean it dropped just below 100). Sweat engulfed us all that evening and sweat I am not a fan of.

image

image

But the season is over, and I am able to wait a whole other year before I have to go through the heat, sweat, and bugs again.  Which I will do because even though I wasn’t made to be a baseball mom, I am still a mom. His mom. I am still going to sit and watch and cheer (because I was made with some loud lungs), and to of course take pictures. Take pictures of this boy God has entrusted to my care…entrusted to participate in the things he loves, even when it’s something I hate.  My oldest is almost 12, and I’m still learning that.  Hopefully, I will concur that lesson before they’re full grown adults…which could be at any moment I blink.

image image image

Big Bub had a chance to play in a summer basket ball league and I was pumped, after all it’s inside and I know some of the rules, stay tuned for that journey.

What is your favorite and least favorite thing about summer?  What is your favorite or least favorite sport to watch live?

Capturing Life,

HLR

2 thoughts on “Oh Summer…

  1. Heidi,
    Love your blog. Watched the movie War Room with your folks last evening and had dinner afterwards. Your Mom gave me your blog address. Hey I love fall too it is my absolute favorite season. The fall colors, crisp cool air, edible pumpkin everything, spiced cider candles burning and who could pass up having a weiner roast over an open fire outdoors on a calm & slightly cool evening. Yep I love fall ! You are blessed and are a blessing to others . Have a great day !

    Like

Leave a comment