Seen. Known. Loved.

Think for a second about a favorite or the best gift you have ever received.  What made it so special, so meaningful, so rememberable?  More than likely the gift that comes to mind is one that means the most to you because the giver knew you.  They knew what your likes were, what you desired, and picked something you would want.  Their gift made you feel special because deep down you felt seen, known, and loved.

With Valentines Day tomorrow, love is right in the front of most people’s minds.  You can’t help thinking about love anytime walking into a store, turning on the tv, or scrolling through social media.  Everywhere we look the past few weeks, everything has been screaming “LOVE” at us, so you can’t help but think of it.  Whether it is because you feel loved and are looking forward to a special day with someone to celebrate that love; or you are dreading the day because you don’t feel loved.  You don’t feel loved by your people, maybe you’re feeling lack of love from your church.  Or if you’re like me, there’s days you just don’t feel love for yourself. Possibly, you don’t even feel loved by God right now.  But let me assure and show you, God does love you.  Because you are His creation, His daughter/son: He always has and He always will love you.

6176699488_img_2525

“Oh give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; for His steadfast love endures forever.” Psalm 118:1 ESV

I looked up the phrase “His steadfast love endures forever” in the bible and in the version that I use (ESV) that 5 word phrase is repeated 45 times.  The 2 word phrase “Steadfast Love” appears over 200 times.  In the process of reading this scripture, I also looked up some synonyms for three of the words included.  Steadfast.  Endures.  Forever.

Steadfast: Constant, Unwavering, Faithful, Unquestioning

Endures: Abides, Goes Through, Puts up with, Supports

Forever: Everlasting, For Keeps, Endlessly, Always

His UNQUESTIONING love endures forever.  His steadfast love SUPPORTS forever.  His steadfast love endures ETERNALLY.

6174635936_img_2529

I have written out that verse with some of my favorite synonyms to speak directly to my life, my heart.  Here is what I came up with:

“I will give thanks to the Lord for He is good; for His unwavering love goes through all and puts up with me for keeps, everlasting.”   I am thankful that though I may waver, His love does not.  I am thankful that He goes through everything I walk through with me.  I am thankful that He puts up with all my faults and shortcomings.  I am thankful He is going to keep and not ever leave me.  I am thankful that all of these things He does everlasting.

6176699488_img_2524

Another verse that shows us that same steadfast love is Psalm 139:13-16 ESV

13 For you formed my inward parts;
    you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
    my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
    intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them.

These verses show us that even before we drew our first breath, God had already made a plan for the days we would live.  So before we had even lived one of those days, we were already: Clearly Seen. Fully Known. Deeply Loved.

God still sees you in this season of life, either on the mountain top or in the valley.  God still knows your happiness and your heartache.  God still loves you, whether you are facing Him or have turned your back.  You are SEEN.  You are KNOWN.  You are LOVED.

6174603856_img_2541

This is my prayer for all of us this Valentines Day and everyday:

Lord, we thank you for your steadfast love.  We thank you that it will always be with us.  In every situation whether trial or joy, your love surrounds us.  Lord, help each of us to hold onto and trust that love.  When we feel unlovable or unlovely, whisper to our heart that you see us.  You know us.  You love us.  For some reading this, they may be in a season of loneliness or heartache.  For them, I specifically pray the truth of the verses above would be at the front of their mind.  That they would claim the promise of your steadfast love, knowing they are not alone but right by your side as a loved daughter/son of the King.  Thank you again Lord, that your steadfast love endures forever. Amen. Amen. Amen. Let it be.

I encourage you to take a notecard and write out Psalm 118:1 plugging in the words that speak the most to your heart.  Make it personal.

6176699488_img_2528

Post that card to your mirror.  Place it in your Bible.  Clip it to the sun visor in your car. Or use it as a book mark in whatever novel you’re currently reading and move it to the next.  Wherever you keep it, remember to look at it. Claim it. Pray it. Believe it. Trust it.  Let it remind you of the great steadfast love God has always and will always have for you. Let it be a constant reminder that you are: Seen.  Known.  Loved.

6174635936_img_2538

Capturing Life,

HLR

Leave a Reply

